MicstagesUK ~

News, Entertainment & Media

You’ll be BLOCKED from WhatsApp if you don’t accept this change very soon

Sean Keach

WHATSAPP is having another go at getting ALL users to accept controversial new privacy terms.

It follows a disastrous first attempt that saw millions of users download rival chat apps – with many deleting WhatsApp altogether.

This is the new pop-up you'll see very soon

2

This is the new pop-up you’ll see very soonCredit: Facebook / WhatsApp

Users now have until May 15 this year to click “Accept”, or face being locked out of their WhatsApp accounts.

The new terms are related to messaging with businesses – but were poorly explained.

Even WhatsApp admitted that they were far too confusing, and pushed back the “Accept” deadline from February to May.

Now WhatsApp is having a second stab at getting you to agree to the new terms.

WhatsApp is going on a PR campaign to convince you that its app is private and safe

2

WhatsApp is going on a PR campaign to convince you that its app is private and safeCredit: Facebook / WhatsApp

You’ll soon be presented with a redesigned pop-up forcing you to accept the latest policy – or be permanently shut out of WhatsApp.

“People want to know that WhatsApp and Facebook cannot read or listen to personal conversations as they’re end-to-end encrypted,” said Facebook.

“After that, people want to know that WhatsApp does not keep logs of who everyone is messaging.

“And that we do not share contact lists with Facebook.

“This is our global approach to protecting people’s most private information and that’s not changing.”

In a few weeks, some WhatsApp users will see a small banner.

This will prompt you to take a look at the new WhatsApp policies.

It’s a sharp contrast to the original full-screen alert.

Tapping on “review” will give you a deeper summary of the changes.

This page says that the privacy of personal conversations doesn’t change.

WhatsApp – a quick history

Here’s what you need to know…

  • WhatsApp was created in 2009 by computer programmers Brian Acton and Jan Koum – former employees of Yahoo
  • It’s one of the most popular messaging services in the world
  • Koum came up with the name WhatsApp because it sounded like “what’s up”
  • After a number of tweaks the app was released with a messaging component in June 2009, with 250,000 active users
  • It was originally free but switched to a paid service to avoid growing too fast. Then in 2016, it became free again for all users
  • Facebook bought WhatsApp Inc in February 2014 for $19.3billion (£14.64bn)
  • The app is particularly popular because all messages are encrypted during transit, shutting out snoopers
  • As of 2020, WhatsApp has over 2billion users globally

Instead, the policy update focuses on optional business features.

Around 175million people message a WhatsApp Business account every day, and this number is growing.

So the policy change affects a huge number of users.

Even if you don’t message Business accounts, you’ll still need to accept the new terms.

There’s also an option to get “more information” that takes you directly to the WhatsApp website.

The new terms come into affect on May 15, 2021.

And you’ll need to accept them by then to keep using WhatsApp beyond that date.

Many disgruntled users have already switched to rival chat apps like Apple’s iMessage, Signal or Telegram.

Facebook’s latest attempt may not change their minds.

Source: TheSun

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: